Additional Users

Top  Previous  Next

Page last updated 11/6/14

The Additional Users menu option is visible only to the employer's Online Administrator and to TRS staff.

 

When this menu option is selected, the List Additional Users page displays a list of any users who have been given access to the Wage & Contribution Reporting System by the Online Administrator.

 

From the List Additional Users page, the Online Administrator can perform all of the following tasks:

 

Grant access to one or more other employees as needed

Change a user's security role

Deactivate a user's access, such as when they leave employment or when a security breach has occurred

Delete a username, such as when a user has been given access to this employer by mistake

 

Note: In your organization, the Online Administrator may be the only user of the Wage & Contribution Reporting System. In this case, it is not necessary to add users on this page. Only the Online Administrator has full control over whether additional users are given access; TRS does not.

 


Click to view larger image. (Click again to close.)

 

The Employer ID and name display below the page name. If no additional users have been given access, only an Add button is shown. If additional users exist, the following columns are displayed.

 

Column Headings

 

Name: The employee's name from his or her TRS Online Services account, displayed in Last name, First name order.

Username: The username that the employee selected when creating the account.

Active: A column to indicate whether the user currently has access to the Wage & Contribution Reporting System.

Contribution Access: The user's security level, either Read Only or Read-Write.

 


Back to Top

To grant another employee access to the Wage & Contribution Reporting System:

Warning-20 Important:  Before the Online Administrator can grant access to another employee, that employee first must create a TR'S Online Services user account and give the username -- but not password -- to the Online Administrator. More information can be found on the New Account Setup page of the TRS website.

 

1.Log into the Wage & Contribution Reporting System and select the Additional Users menu option.

 

2.Click the Add (Plus sign) button on the right side of the List Additional Users page.

 

Click to view larger image. (Click again to close.)

3.Enter the other employee's TRS Online Services username and click Submit.

If a TRS Online Services account exists for that username, the page will display the employee's name, phone, and email.

If the username is not valid, an error message will display. Re-enter the username with corrections as needed and press Submit again.

 

When a valid TRS Online Services account has been retrieved:

 

1.Review the name, phone, and email fields on the Edit Additional User page to ensure the username you entered is for the correct employee.

 

2.Leave the Is Active check mark in place. This gives the user the ability to log into the Wage & Contribution Reporting System.

 

3.Change the Security Role selection, if appropriate:

By default, this field is set to Read Only access. If the user will update and submit wage and contribution reports to TRS, select Read/Write.

 

4.Click Save to store this information. The List view displays the access that has been granted.

The user now can log into the Wage & Contribution Reporting System.

 

Click to view larger image. (Click again to close.)


To change a user's security role:

1.Access the List Additional Users page and select the Edit (pencil) button next to the user's name.

 

2.In the Security Role field, select the Read Only or Read/Write radio button as appropriate.

Leave the Is Active check box checked.

 

3.Click Save to store the change and return to the List view.

 


To deactivate an employee's access:

Warning-20 Important notes:

 

In the event of a security breach at your facility, please notify TRS immediately so that we can take appropriate measures to protect access to any data that may have been compromised.

 

The employer's Online Administrator is responsible for removing or deactivating an employee's access to the Wage & Contribution Reporting System when the user leaves employment. It is also recommended during a leave of absence, such as maternity leave, or a change in job duties.

 

1.Access the List Additional Users page and select the Edit (pencil) button next to the user's name.

 

2.Uncheck the Is Active checkbox and click Save.

 

This prevents the user from accessing the Wage & Contribution Reporting System, but retains history of the user's access. If the user needs access to the system for this employer in the future, the box can simply be checked again.

 


To delete a username from the List Additional Users page:

On rare occasions, you may need to delete a username, such as when a user has been added in error. This does not delete the user's TRS Online Services account, only the user's connection to this employer in the Wage & Contribution Reporting System.

 

arrow_green_16x16 TIP: For legitimate users, it is better to deactivate access (as described above) than to delete the username from the page entirely. If you want to delete a user who should not have been given access:

 

1.Access the List Additional Users page and select the Edit (pencil) button next to the user's name.

 

2.Click the Delete button, then OK to confirm the deletion.

 

This deletes the user's connection to the Wage & Contribution Reporting System, and also deletes all history of the user's connection to it. Please note that it does not harm the user's TRS Online Services account username and password or remove their access to any other online services and systems.

 


Back to Top